Early Years

Early Years and Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum overview

We follow the EYFS framework covering seven areas of learning and working towards the Early Learning Goals. The seven areas of learning are:

  • Communication and language
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

We follow Letters and Sounds for the teaching of phonics on a daily basis, and use a range of reading schemes, the primary ones used for reading in school being Bug Club and Oxford Reading Tree.

Learning is delivered in an active play based curriculum, where all children are taught according to their needs.

Each of these areas is implemented through planned and purposeful play, a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activities.

Children gather for daily inputs of taught learning with their class teacher. These sessions are focused on communication, language, literacy, mathematics and phonics.

Through these inputs, children learn key taught skills, which they then apply in continuous provision and play. This enables our children to become able and independent learners and access the curriculum effectively.

The curriculum is creative and play-based and challenges each child to achieve their individual potential.